Peer pressure
I get that peer pressure is a thing. I really do, but I’m disappointed in Clay for caving. Maybe it’s harder for boys than girls as far as peer pressure is concerned. I remember just telling people I didn’t want to, and most of the time, they left me alone. My mom also always told me that I could blame her if I got in a situation I didn’t want to be in, and I intend to be the same way with my kids. I’ll gladly be the bad guy if it allows them to safely get out of doing something they don’t want to do. ‘Ugh, my mom is so mad at me. I’ve gotta get home now or I’ll be grounded for the rest of my life. She’s seriously the worst.’ I can handle that.

Seriously, what’s the deal with Tony?
There’s something up with him. And he has a lot of tattoos for being in high school.

Cycle of abuse
I guess this makes sense that Justin has a crappy home life and has been making crappy decisions. I don’t like that the cycle of abuse is something we need to talk about. How do we stop people from continuing?

Why doesn’t Hannah’s mom know any of her friends?
My mom knew all of my friends in high school. They came over all the time, and she knew their parents. It was just expected. I wasn’t allowed to go somewhere if she didn’t talk to my friends’ parents. You’re in high school. You’re still a kid. You still need (and want if you’re honest) boundaries. I’m really not liking how the adults in this series are portrayed.

How come no one is worried about Alex when he quits jazz band?
Part of the issue with suicide is you don’t want copycat behaviors. Alex seemed a prime candidate for this…loosing interest in hobbies, making poor choices, dropping his friends… yet no one seemed too concerned about him.

It’s naive to think that no one is having sex in high school, but it’s also naive to think everyone is.
Speaks for itself. Kids need to be taught that every action has a consequence. My mom always told me never to do anything that I couldn’t wake up the next morning, look at myself in the mirror, and like the person I saw. At the end of the day, you need to be able to love yourself and your choices.

Guys locker room – hold them accountable. Boys will be boys is not an excuse.
As a mom to a son and a daughter, I plan to raise them both to respect themselves and to respect people of the opposite gender. You cannot say that ‘locker room talk’ is just talk. Disrespecting women is not ok in any context. Someone needs to step up and stop.

How would religion/faith play a role?
Now, I’m a pretty faithful person. I believe in God, and I pray often. I wonder, as I’m watching this series, if faith would be something that could’ve helped these kids. Growing up knowing God and going to church really shaped who I am as a person, and it helped me in lots of hard situations. I know it’s a tv show, but I’d love to see someone (not portrayed as a religious wacko) take the prayer angle to help someone else.

To read about the first two episodes click here and here.

