I had heard some horror stories about giving birth. Many women don’t get the labor/birthing experience they want because of any number of factors…the hospital wants to speed things up, the doctors are pushing an epidural, c sections happen instead of natural births… The list goes on and has been different for different people. My birth plan was fairly simple – I wanted a natural delivery. I wasn’t sure about the epidural/any type of pain medication. And I wanted to be able to walk around.

You know who helped me stick with my birth plan? My labor and delivery nurse Lori. Now, let me back up to when I was 28 weeks pregnant. I fell down the steps of my house and ended up in triage. The nurse (Lori) who took care of me there was great. But to add to her greatness, she also is friends with my parents. Her husband and my dad do business together, so we had a personal element to our relationship which was nice.
When I found out Lori was going to be my nurse for my induction I was really happy. I felt like she would take really good care of me. And she totally did.
She was calm when I was anxious, she was my advocate, telling the doctors what I wanted and making sure I was informed and comfortable with every decision made. Whenever she suggested something, I knew it was the right call. She made me feel like I had some dignity during labor and never once did she seem annoyed with my questions, fears, or the 5,000 times I said ‘I want this baby out!’ I could not have asked for a better nurse. She even extended her day and stayed longer just to make sure I was ok. She was just about perfect.
The other nurse who made my hospital experience better was my daytime recovery nurse, Janel. Her and I had no previous personal connection, but she was just great. She gave me advice, assured me that what I was feeling was totally normal, and made sure I was well taken care of – including helping me go to the bathroom and teaching me what all of those ‘goodies’ in my bag were.
One moment sticks out in my mind when she really went above and beyond. She came into the room just to check on me, and I was having a postpartum filled cry session. I missed Vinny. I was overwhelmed. I was in pain. I was full of anxiety and doubt. It’s a crazy time the day after your child is born. She sat down on the bed with me, hugged me, shared stories of how she dealt with anxiety, but mostly, she was just there for me. She told me everything was going to be ok, and she didn’t leave my room until I had calmed down and was feeling better.
Nurses are just amazing people. I know it’s their job, but it really makes a difference when they love what they’re doing, and you can tell they truly care about their patients.
So, to anyone who reads this who is a nurse – thank you! I’m sure you don’t hear it enough.

