I made a choice today. Well, I made a lot of choices today, some better than others, but I digress. I made a choice to stop drinking alcohol for at least as long as I continue to breastfeed Sydney. I realize a lot of women make this choice, and there’s really nothing profound about me doing it too, but I find writing about it (and writing in general) to be therapeutic, especially if I have an audience that I’m writing to.

**Side note – it’s funny that I enjoy writing so much now when I HATED keeping a journal when I was younger. Hated journal writing in school so much that many of my journal entries simply said ‘I hate journal writing’ over and over. For extroverted me, blogging is so much better because of the audience. I need human interaction to recharge, and I like sharing ideas. Blogging does that in a way. Ok…back to my original thoughts!**

Surprisingly enough, I came to this decision without talking it through with anyone. I think because I didn’t want anyone to talk me out of it or tell me I couldn’t (or shouldn’t) do it. So everyone in my personal and blogging life is finding this out at the same time. Even my husband! (Although I’m pretty sure he only reads the blog when I ask him to.)

Now, I’m not doing this for the same reasons as I chose not to drink while pregnant because I know that drinking is ok when you’re nursing as long as you follow the rules. I’m also not doing it to be healthier or to lose weight or anything like that. In fact, I’m hungrier now while breastfeeding than I ever was while pregnant! And I’m making healthy choices about what to eat, but there is also a lot of dessert that’s consumed too. There’s also no religious or moral reason I’m doing it either. I enjoy drinking a glass of wine with dinner or going out with friends and having a drink. I don’t find anything wrong with that.

I’m doing it simply because I don’t miss it. I haven’t had any alcohol since discovering I was pregnant, and honestly, I don’t miss it. I did really miss all of those foods you weren’t allowed to eat while pregnant (blue cheese!) and I’ve been eating those foods, but alcohol hasn’t even crossed my mind as something I’d like to introduce back into my diet since Sydney was born.

My nursing goal is to make it to one year. So that would mean that January 2018 would be when I’d have a drink again, if I choose to. I may decide that I don’t need or don’t want to drink again, and that would be fine too. I’m not making a commitment to never drinking alcohol again. That’s not what this is about. I’m making a commitment to not drinking as long as Sydney is nursing.

And in the spirit of #nojudgementzone, I didn’t write this to tell anyone else how to live their lives. I wrote it because this is what I’m choosing to do. You can choose whatever you’d like, whatever works best for you and your family.

So there you go, in the words of When Harry Met Sally, ‘it’s out there.’ My conscious decision not to drink for as long as I’m breastfeeding.

