I realize that I touched on, but never really went into detail on how I went from having a 1% chance of conceiving to giving birth to a beautiful baby girl. Don’t worry, this isn’t a birds and the bees ‘how babies are made’ blog, this is a blog about acupuncture.

I was told by a few different people that acupuncture helped them or someone they know with fertility issues, but I never really considered it or thought it would actually help me. Plus, who wants to sit around for 30 minutes with needles coming out of their body?? I just pictured myself 100% wanting to take out every single needle and simply counting the seconds until they would be out of me. No thanks. I’m not particularly afraid of needles, but I also don’t really enjoy getting poked and prodded. It’s not really a comfortable feeling.

For those of you unfamiliar with acupuncture, the website Starts at 60 gave a nice description that I’m going to simply copy and paste in here:

‘“It is the insertion of very fine single-use sterile disposable needles into acupuncture points to balance the flow of qi (pronounced chee) – the Chinese word for energy,” she says. “Most people will report a feeling of relaxation after an acupuncture treatment and an improvement in symptoms.”
Acupuncture focuses on using the body’s qi – or energy – to stimulate certain points and clear out blockages to allow the energy to flow correctly. As strange as it may sound to some, our body is made of much more than blood, bones and muscles and acupuncture focusses on these differences.
Pressure points are targeted to hone in on certain areas to treat the cause of the problem as well as the symptoms.’

So, I had acupuncture on my radar, but I still wasn’t quite ready to take the plunge. I really wanted to see what it was like before I actively pursued it as an option. Well, last year at the Home and Garden Show there was an acupuncture booth and they were offering ‘samples’ of acupuncture treatments. I decided to do it. This was what I was looking for – a chance to test drive these needles.

It was amazing. This guy could tell things about me simply from checking my pulse. He knew everything from my anxiety to where I was in my menstrual cycle to the fact that I had slept poorly the night before… it was like magic how he knew all of this. They just used needles in points on your ear since it was in a public place, but you couldn’t even feel them once they were in. I decided I could give it a shot. Even if it didn’t work for fertility, it should help regulate my hormones and make my body act like it was 33 instead of 83.

I went to an acupuncturist near my house that was recommended to me. She was great and always very calming when she talked to me. I went mainly for fertility and anxiety, and it helped tremendously with both. There was one week in particular where I was especially stressed and anxious with work, and as soon as she put one needle in my ear I felt instant relief. This is truly magic. I always felt amazing after my weekly sessions. And once I was pregnant, I continued to go. Acupuncture also helps reduce the risk of miscarriage.

Since acupuncture isn’t traditional medicine it’s not covered by insurance and can get pricey. Mine wasn’t horrible, but it does add up…however, it’s totally worth it.

So, my body didn’t just (on its own) miraculously produce a good egg to begin Sydney’s life. It had a little bit of help. While I credit God for placing Vincent in our family, I credit God AND acupuncture for placing Sydney in our family. And I 100% couldn’t be happier.

If you have fertility issues and want to get pregnant, RUN to your nearest acupuncturist.

