Imagine it’s the biggest football game of the year, a day where millions of people are pigging out on burgers, nachos, pretzels, beer, chicken wings, and pizza…and you can’t have any of it.

That’s what it’s like being on Whole30 during the Super Bowl LI (am I allowed to say that…should I just be saying Big Game…probably…too bad).

It’s been a week, seven days, 168 hours, and way too many minutes since Derek and I started Whole30. In that time we’ve had a lot of protein, fruits, veggies, fruits, tea, fruit, and black coffee. I’ve expressed will power over food I didn’t know I had. I threw temper tantrums (usually to myself) that I can’t have caramel macchiatos or Dr Pepper or chocolate.

I would definitely describe the first week as tough, but maybe not as difficult as I thought it was going to be. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had moments where I have seriously considered giving it up, but I haven’t. Going into this I wasn’t even sure I could make it the first week.

Whole30 Week One

  • Monday (1): Bummed I couldn’t have a caramel macchiato to start my day, but mostly okay since it was just the first day.
  • Tuesday (2): DEATH! I don’t know if it was a cold I have or the “hangover” day, but I could barely move. Eating felt out of the question, but once I had dinner and some more food, I did feel better.
  • Wednesday (3): Pretty awesome. I felt so much better than Tuesday and my cravings weren’t worse than I thought they would be.
  • Thursday (4): Another good day…until I went to a networking event for work. Unfortunately there wasn’t a whole lot I could eat. I had to dissemble some hors d’oeuvres in order to eat anything. And not partake in the open bar.
  • Friday (5): A lot of times we go out to eat on Friday nights…not so this week.
  • Saturday (6): I woke up CRAVING Starbucks and bread and everything I couldn’t have. We went over to friends and watched them eat Chipotle. Will power for real. I wanted chocolate at night in the worst way.
  • Sunday (7): Not too bad, minus not being able to eat any traditional Super Bowl food. We started the morning at the West Side Market and got some delicious meat, produce, and dried fruit.

I feel as if my overall mood has improved. Little things are getting to me less. That being said, I’m definitely still experience a lack of energy (I can’t tell you how many nights I’ve wanted to go to bed at 8 pm) and I keep forgetting the dog outside (sorry, Cocoe!). I believe the fatigue and brain fog are due to the fact that my body is learning how to process real food and not tons of sugar. I count it as a real win that I haven’t broken down crying that I can’t have the food I want.

The sugar dragon is still around and controlling my cravings. But I’m not giving in.

We are cooking so much and so often. I think we’ve used every single Tupperware dish we have about a trillion times. We definitely ate out too much before and now we’re cooking and preparing three meals a day plus occasionally additional meals for Keely. It’s making me wish for more cookware and a bigger kitchen.

Want to know the greatest thing? I’m actually helping cook. Shocking, I know. While I don’t love it, I don’t abhor cooking like I normally do. Part of me feels we spend almost all of our time outside of work cooking, prepping, or shopping for food. If this was how it was for the rest of forever, I may not be able to handle it, but it’s only for 30 days.

I mentioned Keely a few sentences ago. She is not on Whole30, I prefer her to eat, otherwise she becomes a disaster. We try to offer her what we’re eating first and if she refuses, then we’ll make her something else. On the weekends she usually gets “second breakfast” aka when the other parent wakes up (we alternate mornings, so we each wake up wither her once a weekend). We’re not making her alternatives then. She doesn’t have to have that meal.

THEN THERE WAS THE SUPER BOWL.

We all know the Super Bowl is epitome of American gluttony. In fact it was during the Super Bowl in 2014 that I knew there was definitely something wrong with my digestive tract that ended up leading to my gall bladder coming out.

Derek and I purposely didn’t make plans on Super Bowl Sunday. What fun is it to be around a lot of people eating all that delicious food, drinking beer, and the reason you’re not is because you’re choosing not to (as opposed to not being able to because you’re pregnant or something)?

Around the middle of the week we both started feeling a little bummed we weren’t participating in a traditional Super Bowl Sunday, so we put together a Whole30-approved dinner. Derek had some kombucha to drink. I’m not a huge fan so far of kombucha, but he somewhat likes the fermented tea…I just had some approved iced tea. We had Derek’s guacamole and carrots to start. For chicken wings we did a cross between the recipe found in the Whole30 book and the one found on Jay’s Baking Me Crazy. I coupled that with the surprisingly good Whole30 ranch recipe.

Friends, I had to make mayonnaise in order to make the ranch. Mayonnaise. I had no idea it was something so legitimately easy to make at home. Of course I messed it up the first time, but once I restarted and used my Kitchenaid stand mixer it came out beautifully.

So where do we go from here? The week will start off feeling a little off and possibly bloated. That should be fun while attending Northeast Ohio AMA’s Big Game Ad Review. I reached out to the organizers and luckily the food is Whole30 approved. I was definitely worried about what I would eat. Days 10 and 11 are typically the hardest for people because the cravings get so bad. Once that’s over, I should start feeling much more energetic and wanting Twinkies. But at that point we’ll be half way through with this reset.

Did you make it this far? If so, you’re awesome! Who knew I had so much to say about my eating habits. Last week I promised photos on my Instagram, while I’d still love for you to follow me there, I know better than to promise that this week.

Have a great week!

P.S.

Wasn’t Lady Gaga’s Super Bowl halftime show amazing? Here’s Keely enjoying Mother Monster. 

Week 2>>

Week 3>>

Week 4 and Change>>

