Post-pregnancy I turned to food as a coping mechanism. Especially when trying to live through PUPPPS and my failed attempts at breastfeeding. In those weeks and months following Keely’s birth instead of eating right and shedding pregnancy weight I packed on the pounds. In the last almost two years I’ve created habits and food addictions that are neither healthy nor sustainable.

I’m ready to make the changes I need to in order to get my life back in order. It’s something I have to do to be the best version of myself and the best mom I can be.

That’s where Whole 30 comes in. It’s not a diet, but instead a way of resetting your body. Or, as the founders say,

“Certain food groups (like sugar, grains, dairy and legumes) could be having a negative impact on your health and fitness without you even realizing it…Strip them from your diet completely. Cut out all the psychologically unhealthy, hormone-unbalancing, gut-disrupting, inflammatory food groups for a full 30 days. Let your body heal and recover from whatever effects those foods may be causing. Push the “reset” button with your metabolism, systemic inflammation, and the downstream effects of the food choices you’ve been making.”

One of my biggest problems is sugar, and by going cold turkey, I’m hopeful I can slay my sugar dragon (isn’t that such a great term the Hartwigs came up with?) and remove some of my psychological dependence on the magically delicious substance.

So for the next 30 days I’ll be eating real foods, like meats, eggs, a whole lot of veggies, fruits, and basically things that don’t have long-winded scientific ingredients that can’t be pronounced by the average person. In return I’ll be avoiding sugar, alcohol, grains, legumes, and dairy. You are supposed to adhere to the rules 100% of the time, however, I have one cheat day planned. I’ll stick as close to Whole 30 as possible, but I think that day will be necessary to cheat. And I’m okay with that.

Derek and I spent the better part of yesterday meal prepping for the week ahead. In fact, I’ve spent much of the month of January preparing for the next 30 days. According to the founders, one of the keys to success with Whole 30 is preparing ahead. It’s knowing what you’re going to eat and when. Meal prepping is something I’ve wanted to do for a while. I like that it takes a lot of the guess work out of eating and luckily a lot of the Whole 30 recipes are easy enough for someone who hates the kitchen like me.

Obviously, Keely will not be doing Whole 30. Most of the dinners she will likely eat, but we know how picky toddlers can be. Plus, it is important for her to still have some dairy. If necessary, we’ll prepare her food that’s shut away in our other pantry and make sure she eats.

If you know me in real life, please be patient and understanding with me for the next 30 days. There are phases, especially in the middle where the expectation is to be hangry and a bit crazy. I’m retraining my brain and body to have better habits, but that damn sugar dragon doesn’t want that.

What to expect moving forward: I’m hoping to have a weekly post outlining what I ate for the week and how I’m feeling. I’m sure I’ll take some pictures and post them over to my Instagram as well.

If you’ve done Whole 30 and have any recommendations, I’d love to hear them. I am excited and nervous. Wish me luck!

Week 1>>

Week 2>>

Week 3>>

Week 4 and Change>>

