There are so many blogs about how to feed your baby it’s overwhelming.  And the worst of it is people feel shamed because of their choices – whether or not it’s in their control.

As an adoptive mom, I didn’t have much of a say on whether or not I wanted to breastfeed, but poor Bridgette put herself, her body, and her baby through hell trying to breastfeed and pump because she wanted to.  Because we’re all told you “should” do this.  Because it’s natural and good for your baby and whatever.  I’m not going to debate that.  I know the benefits of breastfeeding, and I wish I could have done it.  Bridgette wishes she could have breastfed longer than she did.  But at some point it just becomes too much and you have to do what you have to do to save your sanity.

I was lucky enough to be a guest on a podcast with New Mommy Media, a group offering support for new moms specifically through pregnancy, twin moms, and breastfeeding. The podcast I was on was called The Boob Group – The Mommy Wars:  How Do You Feed Your Baby?  We all talked about breast and bottle feeding shaming and how people are judged negatively and positively for both ways of feeding your baby.

I’m not sure I completely belonged in a group/podcast talking about breastfeeding since I’ve never done it, but it was nice to offer some of my opinions as to how I feel about feeding my son.

The process of recording was interesting – I was way more nervous than I thought I would be.  It was strange talking to nothing essentially because I couldn’t see the ladies I was chatting with, but overall I think it turned into a positive experience.

Bridgette and I have talked about adding a podcast element to BBB, and recording this gave me a little bit of an insight into how it could work.  Stay tuned…

In the meantime, here’s a link to the podcast in iTunes if you’d like to listen to it – https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/mommy-wars-how-do-you-feed/id539410267?i=1000368589377&mt=2

 

