One.

Keely is one.

Maybe it’s not as hard for you to imagine that my baby is a whole year old, but for me it’s nearly unfathomable. It doesn’t feel as if she’s been this shining light in our often-chaotic lives for a year, it seems more like four or so months. I can’t imagine what it is going to feel like as she gets older.

It’s been an amazing year. Not long after we brought her home we moved into the first house we purchased. I don’t think I can imagine what this house would be like without her toys, bottles, and clothes strewn about. We still have some work to do on it, but it absolutely feels like home.

On St. Patrick’s Day Keely took her first intentional steps. By Easter ten days later she was walking. It’s been like that for so much, she’ll show very little interest in doing something and then when she does, BAM! she’s mastered the task. The only things I really saw her struggle with were crawling and rolling from back to belly.

She is really becoming such a spitfire. She wants things done her way, but she’s also so caring. She wants to share everything, including her most prized possession, her binky, with the people (and dog) she loves. Keely still loves to be held and snuggle in, but she’s also incredibly busy and sometimes a little bossy.

One of her favorite things to do is to put things in her something and take them back out. If you come over and take your shoes off you’ll wan to check them for a small item before you put them back on. Derek and I have stuck our feet into shoes only to be stopped by a binky or block a few too many times.

This year has been by far the best year I can remember. Yes, the days were long, but the months are short.

On Saturday we had Keely’s party. It was a great combination of friends, family, pink, gold, glitter, smash cake, kids playing, and a very happy baby. I was afraid when she woke up early from her nap that we would have a cranky baby all day, but instead we had a baby that was engaging, sweet, and playful. At one point she started getting tired so I decided to do her smash cake. She didn’t smash it, but she did eat a bunch of sugar and was quite happy afterwards.

I did a lot of crafting prior to her party and I think it came out well. It was so nice to have my vision realized. Even if I did forget the pink/white swirled chocolate in the freezer (anyone want some?).

I think my favorite was her smash cake. I started with the instructions from Belle of the Kitchen, made my own buttercream, decorated it with a pink ombre petal effect, and topped it with a gold “one” script. It was perfection. You can watch a video of us singing to her and trying cake here>>

Or maybe my favorite was her outfit. I’d made a custom “one” onesie with a pink sparkly tutu. Paired with pink tights with ruffles on the butt and she was downright adorable. And incredibly impossible to photograph.

Thank you so very much to everyone who has been with us on this journey.

One.

Keely is one.

 

