Some of you may know that Husband is a police officer. He works hard. He upholds his oath. He’s a good cop. He truly serves and protects.

His job is hard. It’s harder than so many other jobs because he puts his life on the line every single time he goes to work. He wears a bulletproof vest because there is always the possibility he will be shot. There is always the possibility he will not come home. How many of you go to work with the little thought in the back of your head that you might not come home? There’s not a day goes by that I walk into my school thinking I’m not coming home at the end of the day. I imagine it’s the same for most jobs.

Now, this isn’t going to be a ‘woe is Husband’ post because he chose his profession, and he loves it. This probably also will not be a popular post because I have some strong opinions, and I’m sick of everyone else being allowed to share/post their thoughts, but the police families having to remain silent.

I’m not going to say that every cop is good and right because that’s not true. Just like it wouldn’t be true to say every teacher is good and right or every doctor or every lawyer or every McDonald’s employee or every ANYONE! Because that’s life. That’s humanity. That’s the world we live in.

There are good and bad people in every walk of life, but my goodness, why must we condemn those men and women who put on a uniform to serve and protect? Why does everyone else feel like they can do my husband’s job better than he can? Why is it so easy to sit behind your computer and spew hate at someone trying to do his job to the best of his ability?

Get in the car with my husband on one of his shifts. See what he deals with on a regular basis. See if you can see people heinously murdered and be able to come home, kiss your wife and play with your sons without any emotional outbursts. See if you can get called every name in the book and be able to calmly help, yes, HELP that person who is berating you with every single breath. See if you can get hit, spat on, fought with, see young children running around the house at 3:00am because their mother is strung out on drugs and can’t take care of them and come home and be a normal, functioning human being.

Can you arrest a teenager who sent his grandfather to the hospital and still have faith in humanity? Can you see the destructive path so many people choose for their lives and still believe the world is a good place to live? Can you see this on a daily basis and still choose to have a family and raise your children and be a loving father and devoted husband?

Can you see and deal with all of this and more and still CHOOSE to put that uniform on day in and day out because you want to SERVE and PROTECT? Can you? Until you’ve made that choice and been able to do all of that, don’t judge and don’t hate and don’t think you know better because you don’t. No one knows what they’ll do in a situation until they’re in it.

I am terrified every time my husband leaves for work, and I am thankful and relieved every time he comes home safe. I am proud of my husband. I am proud of his brothers and sisters in blue, and I support them.

