I missed Monday blogging, so here’s a quick one for you all. (Also, this is the first time blogging from my phone, so please forgive any typos…I’ll try to catch them!)

My husband is a wonderful man. But, as most men/husbands, some aspects of him are more wonderful than others. I’m here to tell you about one of my favorite aspects of Husband – his handiness.

I often say he can fix anything, and I swear it’s true. (The time frame at when he fixes them is one of his ‘not so wonderful’ qualities!) However, he is quite handy and creative when it comes to the house. 

Our latest project has been the kitchen. About a year and a half ago we tore down walls in our kitchen to open up the middle level of our house. A few months after, we got an island, which Husband designed himself. Well, since then, our beautiful island had a not so beautiful piece of plywood with a hideous tablecloth over it. It did the job until we had saved up enough money to buy granite, but it still was awful. It was awful to look at and just made the kitchen seem incomplete.

image
Super ugly table cloth
image
Is in the trash!!
image
Even uglier plywood…
image
Is gone too!!!

Until today. Today is Husband and I’s 1 year and 9 months of being married. It’s also – GRANITE DAY!! Husband found a beautiful remnant which he was able to get a really good price installed, so we decided to go for it! Happiness all around the S household!!!

image
I love our new granite countertop!
image
The most beautiful piece of granite I’ve ever seen.

We also have been working on a DIY rock wall/post for the kitchen, and today we finished it!  This is super cheap and fairly easy to do. We found all of the rocks near rivers and streams, so that total cost was $0! We then used tile glue to stick the rocks to the post. Husband is planning on putting grout between the rocks to even it out a little, but I think it looks so good the way it is!

image
The final product – granite and the rock post!!
image
Rocks we found!
image
Rocks and pliers in case we needed to manipulate any rocks to make them smaller
image
Tile glue
Husband finishing our rock post
Husband finishing our rock post

Husband also ordered a transition piece for the floor, since Vinny is going to be crawling soon, we want to make sure everything is safe in the kitchen. That piece should be made and installed in 2-3 weeks.

Now, by no means does this mean our kitchen is ‘done’.  When you live with my husband, nothing is truly ever ‘done’! But we’re closer… And, this granite is making me happy. Yay for granite day! Yay for handy husbands!

Vincent approves!
Vincent approves!

And (extra bonus) Husband is taking me out for Chipotle for dinner today! Who knew a Monday could be so eventful!

